It is always a bit shocking when I realize that summer is past the halfway mark.

I haven’t had a real summer vacation for a few years now, so the fact that grad school is creeping up seems a bit foreign.

This summer has been very busy for both Kelsey and I.  The key is always to try for fun in the middle of a hectic life, which is often easier said than done.

Its the little things though.  Yesterday, we took our bikes down the newly paved bike path in Dover, NH.  The old railroad bed gives a straight shot to downtown- and even allows for a more lazy access to Dover Natural, our wonderful little health food store/cafe.

It also is a quick and easy way for us to get to a quiet picnic area to eat our gluten free, vegan sandwiches.  We used marinaded and baked spicy tofu, some organic tomatoes from the farm Kelsey works at, some lettuce from our own garden, gluten free bread from Dover Natural, and grapeseed veganase.

Kelsey also had brought some saturn peaches from UNH.  She said they aren’t popular because of their appearance, but who cares if they’re odd looking when they taste like candy!

In my next post, I’ll talk about about some of the gluten free breads I’ve been making with the help of some local summer veggies, how the marathon training is going, and some refreshing summer beverages that I fancy.

Leave a comment